Our husbands should come before our selves

iFellowship
Philippians 2:3 (New American Standard Bible)

3Do nothing from selfishness or empty conceit, but with humility of mind regard one another as more important than yourselves;
The LORD asks us to regard others as more important than ourselves; other’s needs come before our own selfish wants. For me this means doing the dishes, even if I don’t want to, because my husband likes a clean kitchen. Folding the laundry, even if I don’t want to, because my husband likes clean clothes. I’m not saying that he NEVER does this. I am a stay at home mom and these are my jobs. Yes he does them and that is my own fault and selfishness coming through. We humans aren’t perfect after all. I have been trying to be better since I read this scripture though; I think this is what matters…that we try with a happy heart to put others before ourselves.
So instead of viewing it like “oh he’s so lazy, he doesn’t do anything around the house.” think about this scripture and think “God would like it if I did this.” Our ultimate goal is to please God.
Leave a Reply

